7 of 52: Year of Ocean

by justine

We’ve had a bought of rain here in SoCal, and while it’s not the snow-mageddon the rest of the country is experiencing this winter, it was quite the change for us. Luckily, we’re fine, our commutes weren’t too crazy, and the storms have passed.

But Carter Cash hates rain (avoids getting wet in general) and so the weather made it difficult to exercise him yesterday and today. And an exercised pup is a happy pup, so he was frustrated this morning. At first we thought we’d take him around the neighbohood on bikes, but as soon as we walked outside, we realized it was drizzling – no good for the bikes or the dog. Selfishly, I suggested we go down to the beach, so Carter would be entertained and I could get my weekly ocean visit in. Worked like a charm.

We didn’t walk very far, with our cafe vanillas from Coffee Bean, but it felt good to get out on to the sand. It was especially cool because the view was so different from a week ago – the ocean was a churning, foaming beast – you could feel it pounding and sucking at the sand.

Though Carter loves the sand, dogs aren’t allowed on the beach, so I took a quick walk out to the waves alone. I felt rushed b/c Carter was howling at me (this was interrupting his walk) but just being that close to natural energy – the ocean, the waves – and I felt something in me realign again.

It’s still baffling to me that I get to live this close to the Pacific ocean. That even though I’ve moved 3,000 miles from home, I am still less than a 20min drive from the sea.

I guess that’s just the Pisces in me. And it was a great time to say hello to the waters, as the new moon in Pisces was last night, welcoming us to be open to receiving, to go back to where life began, in water.

I always forget this is a Piscean principle… that us Fishes are so prone to giving that we forget to receive, to allow that loop to close. And with that, and my one little word for the year ~flow~, I move on into this week of work, friends and to-dos. I’ve signed-up for two online classes which I’m looking forward to, and I have a rock climbing class as well. All good things.

Hoping all is lovely for you whatever ocean you’re near. xo

*See all of my Year of Ocean